Meet the 2016 North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) Winners


Every year, the North American Hairstyling Awards (NAHA) recognizes the beauty industry’s most talented artists. Here, this year’s finalists and *drumroll, please* winners! 

Meet the 2016 NAHA Winners

Since its inception in 1989, the NAHA Awards has become the premier beauty photography competition amongst the beauty world’s elite. We’re talking master hairstylists, nail artists, makeup artists, colorists and the best salon design. Every year, the competition draws out the most talented, artistic beauty industry pros to create out-of-this world looks that range from the fantastical to the classic.

This year’s group of finalists and winners created outstanding monuments to hair, makeup and nails, all of which can be seen here.

We’d like to congratulate the NAHA 2016 winners starting with Cassandra Clark, NAHA’s Nail Professional of the Year! 

Below, the finalists and winners.

Nail Professional of the Year

Sarah Felt

Hillary Fry

Melly Nguyen

Robyn Schwartz

Winner: Cassandra Clark

Avant Garde

David Barron

Erika Fung

Franco Hernandez

Dilek Onur Taylor

Winner: Edward Woody

Contemporary Classic

David Barron

Alain Pereque

Stacey Smoker

Mio Sota

Winner: Dilek Onur Taylor

Editorial Stylist of the Year

Chrystofer Benson

Phillip-Todd DeBolt

Steve Elias

Amy Freudenberg

Winner: Lucie Doughty  


Rossa Jurenas

Alann Sluser

Jake Thompson

Loretta Tom

Winner: Chrystofer Benson

Hairstylist of the Year

Anthony Cress

Sal Misseri

Diana Rocha Skrabanek

Cynthia Valdez

Winner: Matt Swinney 

Make-up Artist of the Year

Heath Bryant-Huppert

Carly Campbell

David Maderich

Agne Skaringa

Winner: Isidro Valencia 

Master Stylist of the Year

Van Council

Eric Fisher

Vivienne Mackinder

Dusty Simington

Winner: Ammon Carver 

Men’s Hairstylist of the Year

Ammon Carver

Matthew Morris

Thom Robins

Whitney VerMeer

Winner: Nicole Higgins


Serene Barlond

Tania Crawford

Kayla Ruffino

Katrina Ruiz

Winner: Evan Erickson

Salon/School Design of the Year

Angelique Elmoussa

Aaron Seskin

China Wong

Christie Gonzales

Winner: Michael Crowley 

Salon Team of the Year

Salon Pure

Ruiz Salon

Inspire Greatness Aveda Institutes

NC Salon

Winner: Ammon Carver Studio 

Student Hairstylist of the Year

Jessie Crocker

Kate Degeer

Morgan Funk

Chloe Heth

Winner: Jesse Ervin 


Ammon Carver

Dilek Onur Taylor

Daniel Roldan

Matthew Tyldesley

Winner: Michelle O’Connor

Congratulations to the 2016 NAHA Finalists and Winners! See their works of art here.

More in News